Free shipping on orders over $100

Third man records

#42: The White Stripes XX Default Title

New - unopened ( sold to shop)


Jack White’s label Third Man Records has announced Vault Pkg. #42: The White Stripes XX, an accompaniment to the White Stripes’ first album in celebration of the project’s 20th anniversary. The package will be available solely as a physical release, and can be purchased through Third Man Records’ quarterly Vault subscription service anytime from now to October 31st at 12 AM CST. Jack White began the Vault subscription service through his label in September 2009 as a way to release additional and unreleased content to hard core fans of the label. Recent vault releases include a live vinyl-only version of Jack White’s most recent solo release, Boarding House Reach, and a reissue of Captain Beefheart’s classic, Trout Mask Replica, that came with an actual replica trout mask.

This release packs in a plethora of goodies, including outtakes from the first album’s many recording sessions, live recordings of a show at The Ritz in Raleigh, North Carolina from 1999, video recordings of multiple performances in White’s home state Michigan from the same year, a booklet full of never-before-seen White Stripes photos, and more.


Vault Pkg. #42 is meant to truly go in depth on the circumstances and context surrounding the creation of the White Stripes’ debut. From rumors of the band’s breakup, to their first-ever tour as a group, to even opening a few shows for legendary indie rock band Pavement, there is still plenty to explore in regards to the White Stripes’ self-titled album, and much of it can be found in this very package. The label describes the package as, “the level of material that the Vault was specifically created to share”.


Vault Pkg. #42: The White Stripes XX Tracklists

Self-Titled Outtakes:

  1. Dead Leaves
  2. I Fought Piranhas
  3. Jimmy The Exploder
  4. Let’s Build a Home
  5. Little Red Book (Burt Bacharach)
  6. Screwdriver
  7. Slicker Drips
  8. Sugar Never Tasted So Good
  9. Wasting My Time
  10. Why Can’t You Be Nicer to Me?

Live at the Ritz 9/26/99 LP:

  1. Astro (partial)
  2. Jimmy the Exploder
  3. Do
  4. Sugar Never Tasted So Good
  5. Little People
  6. Broken Bricks
  7. Suzy Lee
  8. Let’s Build a Home
  9. Jolene (Dolly Parton)
  10. Good to Me (Brendan Benson cover)
  11. I’m Bored (Iggy Pop cover)
  12. The Big Three Killed My Baby
  13. Trick Bag (Earl King)
  14. Screwdriver

Live at Paycheck’s 3/13/99 DVD:

  1. Broken Bricks
  2. Let’s Shake Hands
  3. The Big Three Killed My Baby
  4. Do
  5. Jimmy the Exploder
  6. Wasting My Time
  7. Cannon – John the Revelator
  8. Screwdriver
  9. Astro
  10. Sugar Never Tasted So Good
  11. One More Cup of Coffee (Bob Dylan)
  12. Lafayette Blues
  13. Slicker Drips

Live at the Magic Stick 5/30/99 DVD:

  1. I’m Bored (Iggy Pop)
  2. Broken Bricks
  3. The Big Three Killed My Baby
  4. I Just Don’t Know What To Do With Myself (Bacharach/David)
  5. Jimmy the Exploder
  6. St. James Infirmary (traditional)
  7. Astro
  8. Cannon – John the Revelator (traditional) – Grinnin In Your Face (Son House)
  9. Stop Breaking Down (Robert Johnson)
  10. The Same Boy You’ve Always Known
  11. Wasting My Time
  12. When I Hear My Name
  13. Lafayette Blues
  14. Sugar Never Tasted So Good
  15. Let’s Shake Hands
Regular price $99.99