New Orleans Soul '69

Various Artists

New Orleans Soul '69 Default Title

This is a Pre order item will be shipped on or around new RSD dates**Multiple item orders that contain a Pre-Order will not ship until the release date of the Pre-Order**

RSD 2020 release. After almost two decades of furious activity, the recording scene in New Orleans in 1969 was astonishingly subdued. The main reason for this was the collapse of Cosimo Matassa 's Dover conglomerate the previous year. Dover was a one stop shop for the myriad of small labels in the locality, providing a recording studio, pressing plant, distribution, and publicity, all for a smallish fee. And when Dover died so did the vast majority of its clients. So instead of hundreds of 45s, only about 40 singles were released that year. Despite the small number of 45s, the quality was, if anything, higher than ever. History Of Soul Records present the pick of the songs from 1969 here, with funk being the prominent musical genre of the moment, with a few ballads and straight-ahead soul tracks as a change of pace. This LP is therefore a snapshot of a troubled year in New Orleans showing how the city's unquenchable musical spirit still survived -- and flourished. Features The Soul Powers Walter Washington & The Soul Powers Klicky Robinson Little Buck The Barons Mary Jane Hooper Donald Lee Richardson Anthony Butler & The Invaders Chuck Johnson Rockie Charles Skip Easterling Curley Moore Calvin Lee Lee Bates , and Tab Thomas . Edition of 500.


A1. The Soul Powers - Soul Power (Pt. 1)
A2. Walter Washington & The Soul Powers - Pony Express
A3. Klicky Robinson - When I Wanna See You
A4. Little Buck - Little Boy Blue
A5. The Barons -¬ Love Is So Real
A6. Mary Jane Hooper - I've Got Reasons
A7. Donald Lee Richardson - Bring Your Love Home To Me
A8. Anthony Butler & The Invaders - Katty's Thing
B1. Chuck Johnson - I Got It Bad
B2. Rockie Charles - The President Of Soul
B3. Skip Easterling - Pennsylvania Coalyard Blues
B4. Curley Moore - Back In Mother's Arms
B5. Calvin Lee - Love Is Like Fire (I Just Got Burned)
B6. Lee Bates - Bad Bad Understanding
B7. Tab Thomas - There Ought To Be A Law

Regular price $25.99