Free shipping on orders over $100 in The USA

Funky Coup: Korean Soul, Funk & Rare Groove Nuggets 1973-1980, Vol. 1

Various Artists

Funky Coup: Korean Soul, Funk & Rare Groove Nuggets 1973-1980, Vol. 1

Beat Ball Music -Pink double vinyl set

25 essential Korean soul/funky tracks reissue for the first time on vinyl, including 2 unreleased tracks
Remastered from the original master tapes by Dave Cooley (Elysian Masters)
Newly illustrated artwork by Aoyama Tokio & typography by Kim Sang-man (Parasite, Lady Vengeance)
4-page color insert with Korean/English liner notes

This compilation brings together, for the first time, the hottest soul/funk gems that moved the clubs and dancefloors during one of the darkest chapters of Korea’s modern history under the Yushin dictatorship. It serves as a perfect guide to proto K-pop, featuring various hits from era-defining divas, relatively less-known rare tracks, as well as two previously unreleased instrumental tracks. These tunes offer an excellent primer on how soul, funk, jazz, and disco were adapted to Korea at the time, with most of the tracks sourced from the original master tapes (6 tracks sourced from vinyl).

A_1_Beauty Girls(feat Devils)_Milyang Arirang_MSTR COMBINED_4416
A_2_Kim Hajung_Promise
A_3_Okhee_What can I do
A_4_Yoon Bokhee_Give it up
A_5_Cha Dokyun_Are you alright
B_1_Lee Janghee_Crying girl
B_2_Mujigae Quintet_Family Affair_rehearsal
B_3_Okhee_Dont need a word
B_4_Yoon Sooil and the Cotton Candy_Heart waving
B_5_Oasis Sessions(Min Jihee)_Where r u going
C_1_Devils_Hey J
C_2_Kim Sungae_Day after day
C_3_Kim Hyejung_Its raining night
C_4_Yoon Sinae_Needlessl
C_5_Moon Jiyoung_Love
C_7_Norman Sessions_Open the door
D_1_Hee Sisters_Like a bird
D_2_Nami_Franco Romano
D_3_Lee Eunha_Loving Heart
D_4_RBS Orch_Walking alone in Myoungdong
D_5_Choi Heon_Youre so beautiful
D_6_Kim Trio_Long goodbye
JungMin and the Green Frog_청개구리의 꿈(Memphis Underground)

Regular price $49.99