Free shipping on orders over $100 in The USA

New York Soul 1969

Various Artists

New York Soul 1969

This is a Pre order item will be shipped on or around 4/18/2020 **Multiple item orders that contain a Pre-Order will not ship until the release date of the Pre-Order**

RSD 2020 release. For as long as recorded sound existed, New York had been the king of the African-American musical world. More recording opportunities, more singers looking for them, more clubs and bars to earn a living and the biggest industry infrastructure to service all this activity. But it was clear that the Big Apple's crown was slipping a bit as 1969 hove into view. Labels like the mighty Atlantic were sending more of their singers down south to record, and long-standing labels like Kapp and Jubilee were running out of steam. Competition from other recording centers like LA, Detroit, and Chicago was still a big factor and this intensified into the '70s when a resurgent Philly and new competitors like Miami appeared. In 1969 this was an undreamt future however as the Big Apple still just about ruled the roost and it was clear that funk was the new fashionable sound. And to celebrate funk's arrival in the mainstream History Of Soul Records include here a couple of sterling funk instrumentals from Juggy and Willie & The Mighty Magnificents , and a cool slab of vocal funk from the prolific Ronnie Mitchell . But the new syncopation can be heard on several other tracks here from that veteran hitmaker Ruth Brown to the sanctified gospel tones of Bonnie Floyd . In addition, the compilation features some upfront dancers to keep your feet moving and three of the deepest soul ballads to warm your heart. Truly the pick of New York 1969! Also features Sonny Til Ila Vann Rene Bailey Pete Parker Charles Hodges Mighty Joe Drake Curtis Blandon Prince Harold Charlie Thomas Gladys Patrick , and Lilly Fields . Edition of 500.


A1. Juggy - Oily
A2. Sonny Til - Tears And Misery
A3. Bonnie Floyd - I'm Just A Poor Boy
A4. Ila Vann - Keep On Laughin' Baby
A5. Rene Bailey - Warm And Tender Love
A6. Pete Parker - Standing On The Outside Looking In
A7. Ruth Brown - Try Me And See
A8. Charles Hodges - Try A Little Love
B1. Willie & The Mighty Magnificents - Funky 8 Corners (Inst.)
B2. Mighty Joe Drake - Try Try Try
B3. Curtis Blandon - So Much To Give
B4. Prince Harold - They Don't Make Women Like You Anymore
B5. Charlie Thomas - You Don't Live Twice
B6. Gladys Patrick - Losing Comes
B7. Ronnie Mitchell -¬ Hang Loose
B8. Lilly Fields - (I Only See Him) On The Weekend

Regular price $25.99