Free shipping on orders over $100 in The USA

Travel At Your Own Pace

Insight & Damu The Fudgemunk (Y Society)

Travel At Your Own Pace

Redefinition Records -  [2LP] (10 Year Anniversary Edition, previously unreleased bonus tracks, indie-retail exclusive)

In 2006 Insight the Truncator (Boston) and Damu the Fudgemunk
(Washington DC), started recording their debut album under the moniker
Y Society. Entitled, Travel at Your Own Pace (TAYOP) the album was first
released in October 2007. In hindsight, the year would be one of the
last years where albums were designed for long term digestion, and a
handful of releases from the era survived as undisputed classics to the
masses. Today, conceptual albums are almost archaic in a genre built
upon storytelling and themes.
With TAYOP, Insight and Damu put the message in the music. The album
title served the two as a roadmap to completion of its 13 songs and in
return, the finished product serves as a navigation aid to the listener
maneuvering through life within themselves and absorbing the outside
world. From adventures of fiscal responsibility and imaginative tales of
time travel to deconstructing one's obstructions and beyond, Insight's
rhymes confidently steer the listener on whatever path they have chosen
for themselves. The goal of the album is to empower. From start to finish,
the array of uplifting lyrics is somewhat like modern day proverbs, but
not proverbial.
Musically, Damu the Fudgemunk pulls from a deep body of influences,
that give it its unique identity and charm while paying homage to the
foundations of their predecessors. The Legendary Marley Marl cosigned
the album as a ''refreshing'' effort of the times. For a project of such
character, the general reception does not reflect the magnitude of
acclaim by it's cult following. Receiving mixed reviews in a foggy time
in the industry, Travel at Your Own Pace still managed to sell out of it's
original production. However, it has been long out of print for a decade.
In response, original vinyl pressings have fetched several hundreds of
dollars per copy in the used online markets of Discogs and eBay. The
progressing careers of both Insight and Damu in addition to their label,
Redefinition Records (also celebrating 10 years) prove that in a murky
2007, they all knew where they were traveling and how to arrive. Even
with their growth, a Travel at Your Own Pace repress has remained an
inevitable inquiry and recurring expectation to loyal supporters. The
answer is here and the wait is finally over.

Long out of print album, finally available on vinyl again
• Includes previously unreleased bonus tracks
• Damu The Fudgemunk's production debut
• Copies of the original 2007 pressing of this album are hard/
impossible to come by. Sealed copies have been known to
fetch over $200+ on discogs by resellers

1. This Is An Introduction
2. Never Off (On & On)
3. Hole In Your Pocket
4. This Advice
5. Good Communication
6. Scientist
7. Dizzy
8. How Many Of Us?
9. Puzzles
10. What's Next?
11. In Command
12. Setting The Example
13. At My Own Pace
Bonus Tracks
1. Paranoid Remix (Previously only available in Japan)
2. Never Off (On & On) - Insight Remix (Previously only available
on 12'')
3. What's Next? Left Field Remix 1 (Official Release)
4. Match My Pattern (Previously Unreleased)
5. What's Next? Get Hip Remix (Previously Unreleased)

Regular price $11.99